Shutting up that voice

Back in February, Leandra Medine (who inspires me in writing, in fashion, in living) wrote a piece for her site Man Repeller that has stuck with me ever since. Entitled What I Realized About My Self-Esteem Problem, she discusses her tenuous relationship with her self-esteem and self-worth, and how at a certain point she realized that she did not trust herself. I realize that so very often I do not trust myself. I call myself a writer without believing it, I have goals and dreams for a future that I do not believe, I dread telling anyone what it is I want out of life because they will laugh in my face at the very notion.

For many years I played up a confidence that did not exist except in small doses. It was easy to feel confident as the only student at my high school to get into All-State Choir, it was easy to feel confident getting medals for knowing about Socrates and chiaroscuro and the Rite of Spring because I was seventeen and no one else my age cared about it. I felt like a big fish and I felt like I was living in a very small pond, but I was terrified of what else was out there. Out there, everyone would know that I wasn’t all I presented myself to be!

And so, somehow, I decided to move to New York City, possibly as a punishment for even having the gall to do so. A voice in my head constantly tells me that I don’t deserve to be here, that I’m ungrateful to want anything more than I have. That everyone is figuring out that I’m nothing. That I’ll never have the confidence to truly go after what I want.

Sometimes I have to work on a project to keep my mind too busy to entertain that voice. It may be what I’m doing right now. I don’t know if it will ever go away, and I don’t know if I have the wherewithal to finish a project and try to silence (or at least muffle) that voice. For now I plug along and try not to decide it will never be good enough so why bother even trying.

I’m on page 24 of my pilot,  and I have dozens of other ideas floating around my brain. Here’s to somehow getting them out of my head and actually letting people read them. Eventually.

One thought on “Shutting up that voice

  1. Regina Merrick says:

    If my experience tells you anything, it’s that when you’re a writer, you keep writing. The first time I told friends (IRL, not online) that I was writing a book, I thought I would die. And it was Stuart and Pam. Fear is a liar. Look up the song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment