My life as a blogger

Welcome to my first proper post on my sixth (??) blog in my long and storied history of blogging. I am not a successful blogger. I lack the drive and the attention span to keep a project, even a good one, going for very long. My ADHD brain loves to be creative, find ideas that spark my interest and turn them into something beautiful. It also makes it hard for me to keep a clean desk, remember those mental notes I’m always making for myself, and to keep deadlines as more than something I make myself feel guilty for not keeping.

The now six blogs I have kept range from 2005-present, and begin as so many have–

On LiveJournal.

I will not be sharing the URL, because while I do enjoy to make fun of myself in a public forum I simply cannot bring myself to shame poor 16 year old Emily. It wouldn’t be fair. She was so young, so confused about the world, so quietly confident about her future but also so, so terrified. From 2005-2008 I wrote just over a dozen posts. They were sporadic in timing and in subject. I kept it like a diary (as a sidenote: my childhood diaries were very much a precursor to my blogs–only a quarter full, inconsistent in frequency). Notable tags include “lord of the rings quizzes”, “Yiddish”, and “friends. whoot”.

In college I kept three different blogs of increasing success (success here being measured by amount of posts and length of time kept). Two had “musings” in the title. One had “confessions”. They had three, twelve, and twenty-one(!!!) posts, respectively.

The last in that group is probably the best of them. I wrote about TV. I loved writing about TV. I’ve never been more plugged into that world than I was in 2010-2012–it was a golden age of the NBC Thursday night comedy block, Lost was still on TV, I was devouring backlogs of shows long cancelled because I was a student and only working part time. That was also when I wanted to be a writer for television, a dream not entirely dead but now on the back burner while I figure out how to pay the bills.

Number five was a meta-concept blog. In the style of TV recaps a la AV Club, I wrote about a fake TV show where I was the creator, show runner, and star. I believe I wrote five posts, but the site is now defunct. It was also my first foray into domain purchasing. I let it lapse when the site was no longer active.

This post is the crawl at the beginning of a Star Wars movie. It’s a “previously on Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” It’s a long paragraph at the beginning of a movie that you have to pause because it’s really too long for the amount of time they’ve frozen on it. It’s where I’ve come from, it’s who I am in what I’ve decided to share with the internet for the last thirteen years.

Until next time,

Emily

Leave a comment